DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

Response to My Blade Op-Ed


Over the weekend, I received a heartfelt email in response to the op-ed I penned last week in the Washington Blade regarding the end of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell.  Below is the text.  Because I did not ask his permission, I am leaving his last name blank.

As a now openly serving gay military member, I wanted to say thank you for your efforts to make the repeal of DADT a reality.  Since 20 Sep, I have come out to my leadership, my coworkers, and my friends in the military.

Your comments on honor were the exact comments I used to explain to people why I was coming out.  Honor, Respect, Devotion to Duty – those are the core values of my service, they are my core values, and the more people I tell the more I realize the Coast Guard was ready for this change.  Everyone I have told has been supportive.  Just Thursday I sat with a friend in the cafeteria and discussed my life openly for the first time in a military setting.  I did not realize how much of a burden it had been until I didn’t have to carry it anymore.  Your efforts have gone a long way in giving me hope for the republican party.

Thank You

Commander Jim, USCG

Thank you Commander for your kind words and your valiant service!

One response to “Response to My Blade Op-Ed

  1. Peyton Sherwood October 10, 2011 at 11:23 AM

    thank you for your service, Commander!

Leave a Reply

