DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

MLK Memorial


This morning, I took a few minutes to venture down to the National Mall in Washington, DC, to get a quick look at the new Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial.  Not only is it historic, with it being both the first monument to a non-president AND the first dedicated to a black person (I don’t like the term African-American), but it is also magnificent.  Bayard Rustin would be proud.  Of course, I snapped a few pictures.

What is personally amazing is the location.  For years, my place of solace, where I go to reflect, or to relax, or to smoke a good cigar is a bench on the Tidal Basin facing Mr. Jefferson, with Mr. Lincoln at my back.  Now when I sit at that same spot, I will have Dr. King looking over my shoulder.  I couldn’t be more proud!

2 responses to “MLK Memorial

  1. Peyton Sherwood August 23, 2011 at 11:51 AM

    Its exciting and I can’t wait to check it out… I am only disappointed by who they chose as the sculptor. I am shocked that there isn’t one Black sculpture (or even just an American) who could have taken on this project. It seems that we’re out-sourcing our Monuments, now.

    Either way, amazing tribute and from the photos Lei did an amazing job. Look forward to visiting it… once the crowds have died down 🙂

    p

    • Robert Turner August 23, 2011 at 11:53 AM

      They originally had a black sculpture, but there was a difference of opinion in the design, so he backed out. It was a bit controversial. That’s why I went this morning, to avoid the crowds of this coming weekend through Labor Day. Be well, my friend.

Leave a Reply

