DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

On Reading


That old grammar school adage is true – reading IS fundamental!

A few years ago, a very good friend of mine encouraged me to start reading more.  He said that I should read one book per month.  At the time, I was reading maybe two or three books a year.  So I took his challenge, rounding downward, and decided to attempt ten books in a year.

The first couple of years, I failed at my goal.  I read seven books the first year, and eight the next.  But the last couple of years I have met those goals!

So now I am setting a new one.  It’s ambitious, to say the least.  But I think I am up to the challenge.

This morning in my Twitter feed, I saw a post from @julien that said how to read a book a week in 2011.  I read his attached blog post, and thought there’s no way in hell I would do that.  I just don’t have that much free time to dedicate to such a project.  But then a few minutes later, @julien posted a link to another blog that offered up the idea of reading 26 books in a year – one every two weeks.

That is more in line to what I can think I can accomplish.  So in 2011, I am going to read 26 books.  And I am going to chronicle them here on my blog.  I will mix it up with some fiction, history, political, and biography, among others.

That way, if I start to fall behind, you can harass me and make fun of me until I catch up.

And the timing is perfect.  Two days ago I just finished Dead Until Dawn by Charlene Harris.  It’s the first of the Southern Vampire Mystery series, better known as the Sookie Stackhouse novels.  It’s the bases of the hit HBO show True Blood.

So I am going to put on a pot of coffee, sit on my couch and begin reading Living Dead in Dallas.  And watch some football.

Leave a Reply

