DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

Do I Love You, My oh My


Last night’s episode of Glee was out of this world!  Not only has the writing continued to top that of last year, but the song choices (for the most part) are absolutely fabulous!  With last night’s “Duet” episode, they proved just that.

Who would have thunk that an episode without Puck or Sue Sylvester would be dynomite?  But they made it work.  While most of the performances were great, there was one that totally blew me away – Mercedes & Santana’s duet of River Deep, Mountain High.  This Ike & Tina Turner (really just Tina) classic has been around for over 40 years, and dozens of artists have covered it.  Erasure, Celine Dion, Meatloaf, Deep Purple, The Supremes & Four Tops just to name a few.  Rolling Stone magazine lists the song at #33 among the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

But before last night, no one had sung it anywhere near the power and intensity of my private dancer, Miss Tina.  Mercedes, Santana, YOU ROCK!!  Do I love you?  My oh my.  River deep, mountain high, YEAH YEAH YEAH!!!

Leave a Reply

