DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

Running Up That Hill


Kate Bush is an iconic English singer-songwriter from the 80s and 90s, whose influence spans across the musical panoply.  Artists ranging from Tori Amos and Paula Cole, to OutKast and Tupac have cited her as an influence.

Her most recognizable song, at least here in the States continues to be “Running Up That Hill”, from her 1985 Hounds of Love album. In a 1992 interview with Radio 1, she said…

I was trying to say that, really, a man and a woman, can’t understand each other because we are a man and a woman. And if we could actually swap each other’s roles, if we could actually be in each other’s place for a while, I think we’d both be very surprised!  And I think it would lead to a greater understanding. And really the only way I could think it could be done was either… you know, I thought a deal with the devil, you know. And I thought, ‘well, no, why not a deal with God!’ You know, because in a way it’s so much more powerful the whole idea of asking God to make a deal with you.

Think about that for a second.  That statement was made some five months before the book, Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus was published.

A half dozen years after that song came out, I was with a friend at Waterloo Records in downtown Austin, and I heard the song. But it wasn’t Kate Bush. Dare I say it was slightly better (at least in my opinion). When I went to front to ask who it was, the clerk held up a CD case for an unknown band called Blue Pearl

Over the years, others have inquired about this version of the song, but it can no longer be found. I fear that the record is out of print.

Earlier today, several people I follow on Twitter were talking about another cover of the song by the band Placebo. That prompted me to alert them to Blue Pearl. And of course, that version can’t be found anywhere on the Interwebs. Until now! Here is Blue Pearl’s version of Running Up That Hill.

One response to “Running Up That Hill

  1. Eric April 17, 2010 at 7:54 PM

    Brings back memories. Sitting in your bedroom on Angelina listening to Blue Pearl before heading out to the bars. I don’t know why but I associate Amy’s Ice Cream with the band.
    Have a good weekend Rob,

    -Eric

Leave a Reply

