DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

Morning Shot: April 14, 2010


  • The Best 3 1/2 Hours of TV
    Last night, at least for me, was the Triple Crown of television. Three of my favorite shows were on. And even though two of them were on at the same time, thanks to Tivo, it didn’t matter. I was able to watch every second of each one! First came American Idol, which I will write about later in the day. Next came Lost, which is in its final season. I’ve probably seen each episode of the previous five seasons at least four times each. This is one of my favorite shows of all times! Finally came Glee, a postmodern musical television show about the teen anx of a high school glee club.
  • Going Once… Going Twice…
    The Shops at Georgetown Park, a once-popular shopping mall on M Street that opened back in 1981, used to bristle with shoppers and on-lookers. Now it sits half empty and is on the auction block, according to WaPo. At the heart of the matter are legal ties between Western Development Corp. and EastBanc, both G’town developers. This urban mall was once the back drop to the Arnold Schwarzenegger thriller True Lies, among many other films.
  • Finally, a Business Plan for Twitter
    Anyone who knows me knows that I love Twitter. There is hardly a day that goes by where I haven’t tweeted to my heart’s content. But the burning question that I’ve had, and so many others, is how do they plan to make money? After nearly four years of the world tweeting its every thought, we now know how. Twitter’s answer is in the form of “promoted tweets,” which will put ads on Twitter, first in search results and later in user feeds both on Twitter.com and the myriad third-party clients that access the service. At least that’s what the Business Insider reported yesterday. Let’s see how the masses take this intrusion into their all-me-all-the-time Twitter feeds.
Leave a Reply

