DCBigPappa's Blog

Politics & Pop Culture from a homocon.

Dear Senate GOP: Stay out of DC Politics


Back in January on these pages, I wrote a post about a report from the Washington Post that congressional Republicans had filed an amicus brief in DC Superior Court calling for a voter referendum on whether to legalize marriage equality in the District.

In that post, I respectfully asked congressional Republicans to BUTT OUT!  I concluded with State’s rights and local control are tenets of our party.  HONOR THAT!

Today, in the wake of the Senate health care reform bill becoming law, and the changes that are currently being made to it via reconciliation, that same issue has now reared its ugly head in the United States Senate.

As I first read in the DCist, “The New York Times has started posting all the Senate Republican amendments to the health care reform bill, and, surprise, surprise, one of them concerns the District of Columbia’s same-sex marriage law.”

The Bennett amendment – SA #3568 – is said to protect the Democratic process and the right of the people of the District of Columbia to define marriage.

So tell me, Senator Bennett, is the Democratic process not at work when a city council, duly elected by the people of its city, passes a law in which you are in favor?  Wait!  Don’t answer that.  I suppose I already know your answer.

Again, to Republican leaders I say, that as a member of the DC Republican Committee and Vice President of the DC Log Cabin Republicans, I respectfully ask congressional Republicans to BUTT OUT!  State’s rights and local control are a tenet of our party.  Honor that!

5 responses to “Dear Senate GOP: Stay out of DC Politics

  1. Scott March 24, 2010 at 10:40 AM

    Can I call Senator Bennett now to address the shoddy repairs of the potholes on Florida Ave, and the lack of street lamps being replaced in the area? Does anyone know the name of his Staffer for DC Affairs? I’ve got a litany of complaints that I hope he can ix for me.

  2. Eric March 24, 2010 at 12:14 PM

    He He He, I love the way you say “bite me” it sounds so professional when you say/write it.

  3. Shay March 24, 2010 at 1:50 PM

    Your post sounds contradictory. First of all, D.C. is not a state and Congress has constitutional authority over the District. Two, the GOP is simply asking for the voters to have a say on whether they want gay marriage in their area, which is about local control.

    If the city council’s move is truly representative of D.C. residents, then the voter referendum result to reflect it. As we know that the move is not what most D.C. residents would support, hence your desire to not have true “local control” over the issue.

    It seems to me that gay activists’ focus should be on convincing the majority of D.C. residents that their cause is just (and, for the record, I support gay marriage).

    • dcbigpappa March 24, 2010 at 3:17 PM

      Shay, you’re right, DC is not a state and Congress does have constitutional authority over it. But like Scott says below, perhaps we should find out who Bennett’s staffer for DC affairs is and have them fix our potholes and put more cops on the streets.

      But where I disagree with you is that we don’t know that DC voters would reject marriage equality. That being said, there is a reason we live in a representative democracy.

      On top of all of that, thank you for allowing me to be on Booker Rising. I enjoy reading like-minded and similar view points from people who look like me. Keep up the good work over there, and I’ll try not to sound so contradictory over here. :-)

  4. Sally March 25, 2010 at 10:33 AM

    Hey- I believe that the Supreme Court has already ruled to uphold the D.C. Court’s decision against a referendum. Chief Justice Roberts specifically stated that Congress had the opportunity to weigh in and chose not to. If this is the case, how would the Bennett amendment supersede the Congressional time limit and the court’s decision? We should ask Bennett’s office this, but I think they know that it wouldn’t. This is just a way to get Dems on record as supporting SS marriage. Right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,660 other followers

